Next CLS Testing Window

Spring Testing Window:
March 20 – May 1, 2021
Application Deadline:
Friday, March 12, 2021

Summer Testing Window:
June 19 – July 31, 2021
Application Deadline:
Friday, June 11, 2021

Fall Testing Window:
October 9 – November 27, 2021
Application Deadline:
Friday, October 1, 2021

See More Dates

CLS Certification
Recognized by ACC

The CLS certification is now recognized by the American College of Cardiology as qualifying criteria to become an Associate of the American College of Cardiology (AACC), a distinguished designation honoring those with advanced training and education in the field of Cardiology.

More Information

CLS Certification Featured on Today's Dietitian

Learn more about this certification and why RDNs should pursue it.

More Information

About ACCL - History and Mission

The concept of a certification program was spearheaded by the National Lipid Association to provide opportunities for professional development and formal recognition of the specialized expertise of health care professionals with a focus in Clinical Lipidology. The Accreditation Council for Clinical Lipidology was incorporated as an independent organization in 2006 to develop and administer the Clinical Lipid Specialist Exam. In 2009 the Basic Competency in Clinical Lipidology (BCCL) exam was created to offer a professional development opportunity to any healthcare professional or paraprofessional with an interest or involvement in the area of dyslipidemia. In 2015 the ACCL Board of Governors voted to rename the BCCL exam Lipid Competency Certificate (LCC) to better reflect exam content and scope of knowledge covered by the exam.

Although the Accreditation Council for Clinical Lipidology is now a self-governing and separate entity from the NLA, the two organizations work collaboratively to ensure that there are adequate educational and professional development opportunities for Health Care professionals involved in lipid management to help them meet the prerequisites of the certifying examinations.

The Mission of the Accreditation Council for Clinical Lipidology is to establish, certify, and maintain the clinical competencies of qualified health care professionals who have a focus in Clinical Lipidology.