Next CLS Testing Window

Spring Testing Window:
March 20 – May 1, 2021
Application Deadline:
Friday, March 12, 2021

Summer Testing Window:
June 19 – July 31, 2021
Application Deadline:
Friday, June 11, 2021

Fall Testing Window:
October 9 – November 27, 2021
Application Deadline:
Friday, October 1, 2021

See More Dates

CLS Certification
Recognized by ACC

The CLS certification is now recognized by the American College of Cardiology as qualifying criteria to become an Associate of the American College of Cardiology (AACC), a distinguished designation honoring those with advanced training and education in the field of Cardiology.

More Information

CLS Certification Featured on Today's Dietitian

Learn more about this certification and why RDNs should pursue it.

More Information

Clinical Lipid Specialist

Exam Information

The CLS examination has been constructed at the upper level of difficulty and consists of approximately 150 multiple choice questions. You will have 4 hours to complete the exam.

Exam Blueprint

18%Nutrition, Exercise, Lifestyle
10%Clinical Trials
10%Metabolic Syndrome
9%Risk Assessment
9%Lipid Metabolism
6%Adherence and Compliance
5%Special Populations
3%Vascular Biology

*To achieve a passing score on the exam applicants must answer 62% of the questions correctly.